Breaking News

Winning 12 Senators proclaimed by COMELEC

Winning 12 Senators proclaimed by COMELEC

The winning 12 Senators who finished in the top 12 were proclaimed by the COMELEC in a proclamation ceremony in Pasay City on Wednesday, May 18. The senatorial candidates clinched seats in the 19th Congress.

Winning 12 Senators proclaimed by COMELEC
Top 3 winning Senators proclaimed by COMELEC

The 12 winning senatorial candidates are Robin Padilla, Loren Legarda, Raffy Tulfo, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis Escudero, Mark Villar, Alan Peter Cayetano, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Joel Villanueva, JV Ejercito, Risa Hontiveros, and Jinggoy Estrada.

Here’s the ranking of the newly-elected senators based on the votes counted from 107,785 clustered precincts.

Robin Padilla (1st) – 26,612,434; Loren Legarda (2nd) – 24,264,969; Raffy Tulfo (3rd) – 23,396,954; Sherwin Gatchalian (4th) – 20,602,655; Francis Escudero (5th) – 20,271,458; Mark Villar (6th) – 19,475,592; Alan Peter Cayetano (7th) – 19,295,314; Juan Miguel Zubiri (8th) – 18,734,336; Joel Villanueva (9th) – 18,486,034; JV Ejercito (10th) – 15,841,858; Risa Hontiveros (11th) – 15,420,807; and Jinggoy Estrada (12th) – 15,108,625.

The senators’ and their families’ runway-style fashion statements were among the proclamation’s highlights. Senators Jinggoy and JV’s feud was resolved when the elder Estrada approached his brother and congratulated him. Jinggoy also held JV’s hand and raised it, much to the delight of the audience and fellow senators. Meanwhile, Senator Robin concluded his speech with a line from his campaign song “Wonderful Tonight.”

Senator Chiz was accompanied by his wife, Heart Evangelista, who dazzled the audience with her signature fashion statement, while Senator Loren was accompanied by his son, Leandro.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: