Breaking News

Here are the seventy House Committee members who voted YES to deny ABS-CBN’s franchise renewal

0 0
Custom Text

if you are affected by the recent development, specifically the denial to franchise renewal of ABS-CBN, let us take a look and remember at the names of the seventy House Committee members who voted YES to deny the franchise renewal, today, Friday July 10.

As a backgrounder, seventy allies of the administration voted against the approval of another 25-year ABS-CBN’s license to operate after a total of twelve public hearings and testimony establishing the channel had violated no legal provisions.

The majority of the House Committee on Legislative Franchises voted to “deny the application of ABS-CBN Corporation for a franchise to construct, install, establish, operate, and maintain radio and broadcasting stations in the Philippines.”

Custom Text

“By no means can this franchise application be related to press freedom,” said the findings of a technical working group (TWG) that prepared the resolution against ABS-CBN. “It is what it is–a denial of a privilege granted by the State because the applicant was seen as undeserving of the grant of a legislative franchise.”


Here are the names of the seventy House Representatives that voted NO

Rep. Abraham Tolentino

Rep. Atonio Albano

Rep. Faustino Michael Dy

Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado

Rep. Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar

Rep. Faustino Dy V

Rep. Dale Malapitan

Rep. Eric Martinez

Rep. Divina Grace Yu

Rep. Julienne Baronda

Rep. Anthony Peter Crisologo

Rep. Luis Ferrer IV

Rep. John Marvin Nieto

Rep. Strike Revilla

Rep. Samantha Louise Alfonso

Rep. Rolando Valeriano

Rep. Joaquin Chipeco Jr.

Rep. Eduardo Gullas

Rep. Eleandro Jesus Madrona

Rep. Frederick Siao

Rep. Ian Paul Dy

Rep. Gil Acosta

Rep. Weslie Gatchalian

Rep. Prescious H. Castelo

Rep. Alyssa Sheena Tan

Rep. Christian Unabia

Rep. Raymond Mendoza

Rep. Jericho Nograles

Rep. Yedda Romualdez

Rep. Eric Yap

Rep. Claudine Bautista

Rep. Esmael Mangudadatu

Rep. Enrico Pineda

Rep. Dulce Ann Hofer

Rep. Sharon Garin

Rep. Arnolfo Teves Jr.

Rep. Janette Garin (Ex-Officio)

Rep. Paulo Duterte

Rep. J. F. Nograles (F. Hernandez)

Rep. Conrado III Estrella

Rep. Sandro Gonzales (Rep. P. Pichay)

Rep. Mike Defensor (Rep. R. Puno)

Rep. Allan Ty (Rep. A. Gonzales)

Rep. F. Matugas (Rep. J. Pimentel)

Rep. Luis Villafuerte Jr.

Rep. Raneo Abu

Rep. Dan Fernandez

Rep. Rodante Marcoleta

Rep. Henry Oaminal

Rep. Pablo John Garcia

Rep. Deogracias ‘DV’ Savellano

Rep. F. Datol (Rep. M. Romero)

Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez

Rep. Jesus Crispin Remulla

Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo

Rep. Cristal Bagatsing

Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc

Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.

Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy

Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo

Rep. A. Calixto (Rep. J. Lacson-Noel)

Rep. Wilter Palma II

Rep. Ma. Theresa Collantes

Rep. Ria Christina Fariñas

Rep. Camille Villar

Rep. Roger G. Mercado

Rep. Sharee Ann Tan

Rep. Joseph Stephen Paduano

Rep. Bayani Fernando

Rep. Jose Singson Jr.

Rep. Alfredo Vargas
Rep. Micaela Violago

Rep. Alfredo Garbin Jr

The resolution to deny the ABS-CBN franchise application was adopted with 70 committee members voting in favor of the resolution, 11 against, and with 1 abstention and 2 inhibitions. 

Admin - Metropoler

About Post Author

Admin - Metropoler

Metropoler is a social media-centric news website in the Philippines that covers the intersection of financial, business, media, tech, science, tourism, food, entertainment, art, politics, and culture launched on June 1, 2020.
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
Custom Text

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: